Folk legend Pete Seeger honored by arts academy; To receive award May 16th

Folk legend Pete Seeger honored by arts academy

Associated Press

NEW YORK  — Folk music legend Pete Seeger has won a prize and he might just sing a song to celebrate.

The 92-year-old troubadour is receiving a “Distinguished Service” award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. According to academy executive director Virginia Dajani, Seeger might perform at the May 16 ceremony, where playwright Tony Kushner will present Seeger a certificate and a check for $1,000. In an acceptance letter sent to the academy, and shared with The Associated Press, Seeger wrote that his father, Charles Louis Seeger, Jr., would have been “especially pleased.” The elder Seeger was a composer, conductor and pioneer of “ethnomusicology.”

“I am glad we are all realizing that the arts, in a broad sense, may save the world, save the human race,” Pete Seeger wrote to the academy.

Also Wednesday, the academy announced that a pair of Pulitzer Prize winners and academy members will receive gold medals for lifetime achievement: David McCullough for biography and Steven Reich for music. Because academy members are eligible for the medals, no cash prize is awarded.

The arts academy is an honorary society founded in 1898. It has a core membership of 250 writers, artists and musicians, including McCullough, Reich, Toni Morrison, Jasper Johns and Ornette Coleman

—Copyright 2012 Associated Press

http://online.wsj.com/article/APde92c855a4a5419b96888beca4986f26.html?KEYWORDS=seeger

2 Comments »

  1. Pete, Thanks for being all that you have represented throughout my entire lifetime. I’m now 60 and heard my folks play your musiic with pride as a kid! I don’t think they knew what they had in you, like Woody and so many others; but as I approached the War. I knew and understood and listened more intentety to you and your colleagues with a new ear that influenced myself, my wife and children and hopefully my grand children. lWe’re driving back home to Colorado from Texas over the 4th and my grandkids will get a measure of your children’s songs to get them started right! My daughter’s a classical pianist but fun and I know she’ll remember the songs I sung to her as a child. We’ll have fun, hopefully open some young minds and start building a better world that you worked so hard to achieve. You are truly my hero.

    Dr. Jim Stone
    Keller, Texas

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

